Adrian & Laura’s Wedding Cake

Several months back, Lauren posted about our trial run wedding cakes for my brother’s wedding. Well, the wedding was at the end of June and was absolutely beautiful! (And I must say, so was the cake) Simple, but elegant is the best way to describe the wedding cake.

I ended up using the pound cake recipe I originally used, but with the alterations Lauren and I had made. We substituted cake flour for all-purpose flour, and buttermilk for milk. The result; a to die for pound cake that practically melts in your mouth.

Cake baking was the easy part, it was the hot humid weather in Halifax proved a new challenge I wasn’t anticipating. Relocation from the dining room, adjacent the kitchen where my mother was busy cooking away was necessary to escape the battle of Fondant & Moira VS Humidity. So the logical solution…have my father re-assemble our dining room table in the basement. After a couple attempts to roll the fondant out perfectly, I got the cake exactly where I wanted it to be.

The next challenge was to get the cake from my family’s home, to the hotel where the wedding reception was being held in one piece. You might wonder why this would be a challenge, and if this is the case it means you have never driven with my mother. Luckily we made it there, and the cake arrived in one piece.

The reception was lovely, and my brother Adrian and his wife Laura loved the cake. Laura’s mother froze the top tier of the cake for them while they are away in Germany. I can’t wait for them to enjoy it again on their 1 year wedding anniversary. (Although I’m sure it will not be nearly as tasty after being frozen for a year!)

Published in: on October 27, 2010 at 10:30 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chefschezvous.wordpress.com/2010/10/27/adrian-lauras-wedding-cake/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

